The Alexandrovsky Convent (or convent of Saint Alexander) was founded in 1240. As it used to be in those days, the convent was founded by a heroic military leader of the Middle Ages – the Russian prince Alexander Nevsky. According to a legend he founded the convent for women whose men had been killed by the Tatars.
In the 17th century, a fire broke out and all wooden constructions of the Alexandrovsky Convent burned down. In 1695, the Church of Ascension was built on the site of the burnt church. Next to the church the belfry was erected. It has a form of an octahedron and unlike other Suzdal’s belfries it is almost never decorated.
In 1764, the convent closed down and the church became a parish.
In 2006, the Alexandrovsky Convent was returned to the Russian Orthodox Church and in 2007, the first religious service took place in the church of Ascension.
Today the Alexandrovsky Convent is a functioning male monastery. It’s possible to climb to the top of the Belfry for panoramic views of the Pokrovskiy convent and the Saviour Monastery of St Euthymius. The belfry of the Alexandrovsky Convent is a little lower than the other one in the Deposition of the Robe Convent.
To enjoy another picturesque view, just go along the outside of the monastery walls towards the river.
Entrance fee: free.
Address: Gasteva str. (Rus: ул. Гастева)
GPS coordinates of the Alexandrovsky Convent:
Latitude: 40°26′27.5″ (40.44098489999999)
Longitude: 56°25′36.8″ (56.42688580000001)
Check out the full list of the most interesting tours in Russian cities.